Recap of the 2023 CMA Awards: Lainey Wilson Dominates, Luke Combs, and Chris Stapleton Shine”

lainey wilson

The 2023 CMA Awards: Lainey Wilson

Wednesday, November 8, 2023, saw the 2023 CMA Awards held in Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena. Several of country music’s greatest artists walked the red carpet in stunning outfits.

Lainey Wilson has received nine nominations this year, placing her among the most nominated people. Wilson is a remarkable artist who joined the elite few with two nominations in a single year. Her nominations were for “Heart Like a Truck” and “Wait in the Truck” featuring Hardy.

This year, Jelly Roll was nominated for five awards, including Male Artist of the Year and New Artist of the Year. Hardy and Luke Combs each had four nominations, with three each going to Jordan Davis, Ashley McBryde, Joy Moi, Producer/Mixer, Jordan Schmidt, Chris Stapleton, Morgan Wallen, and Songwriter-Producer Derek Wells.

lainey wilson

Morgan Wallen and Hardy collaborated on a medley of vintage country hits during one of the show’s many memorable performance moments. Luke Bryan and Peyton Manning served as the show’s hosts once more. Jimmy Buffett, who passed away, was honored by Kenny Chesney, Alan Jackson, Mac McAnally of the Coral Reefer Band, and Zac Brown Band.

Luke Combs was the Male Artist of the Year winner and received two prizes for his rendition of the iconic song “Fast Car”. Entertainer of the Year, along with numerous other notable accolades, went to Lainey Wilson, who emerged as the night’s biggest winner. She took home two trophies for her work with Hardy in addition to Album of the Year and Female Vocalist of the Year.

Lainey Wilson won Entertainer of the Year without having to wait long. She made a daring forecast when she was nominated for the first time in only her second year. “What’s ahead of you is more important than what’s behind you,” the woman declared.”Party on, Nashville!”

As he put it, “I’ve won a few of these.” Chris Stapleton took home the Male Vocalist trophy for the eighth time. He expressed his gratitude to his wife, Morgan Stapleton, stating, “I couldn’t do any of this without her,” and humbly said that he always stays “humble” before victory. It is undoubtedly far more significant than what is behind me.

After winning their sixth Vocal Duo of the Year trophy, the Osborne brothers shared the honor with singer T.J. “They said, “To be honest, I think it’s a surprise every time. For the sixth year running, Old Dominion continued to hold the title of Group of the Year.

The event began with Winona Judd, an unexpected guest, performing their upbeat song “Need a Favor” with Jelly Roll. In an additional, previously unannounced performance, Eric Church joined Morgan Wallen to reenact their record-breaking duet “Man Made Bar.”

The following day, Wallen and Jelly Roll will each have three-hour segments on the broadcast; Wallen will be applauding Winona’s rendition of Judd’s 1988 No. One successful single, “Love Can Build a Bridge.”

With nine nominations overall, Lainey Wilson dominated the field. With five nominations, Jelly Roll finished in second. Morgan Wallen, the most-mentioned person of the evening, received three nominations, while Combs and Hardy each received four.

The complete list of winners, in bold in their respective categories:


1.Luke Combs
2.Chris Stapleton
3.Carrie Underwood
4.Morgan Wallen
5.Lainey Wilson

SINGLE OF THE YEAR Award goes to Artist(s), Producer(s) and Mix Engineer(s)

1.“Heart Like a Truck” – Lainey Wilson
Producer: Jay Joyce
Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

2.“Need A Favor” – Jelly Roll
Producer: Austin Nivarel
Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun

3.“Fast Car” – Luke Combs
Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton
Mix Engineer: Chip Matthews

4.“Wait in the Truck” – Hardy (feat. Lainey Wilson)
Producers: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells
Mix Engineer: Joey Moi

5.“Next Thing You Know” – Jordan Davis
Producer: Paul DiGiovanni
Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley

2023 CMA Awards

ALBUM OF THE YEAR Award goes to Artist, Producer(s) and Mix Engineer(s)

1.Gettin’ Old – Luke Combs
Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton
Mix Engineers: Michael H. Brauer, Jim Cooley, Chip Matthews

2.One Thing At A Time – Morgan Wallen
Producers: Jacob Durrett, Charlie Handsome, Joey Moi, Cameron Montgomery
Mix Engineers: Josh Ditty, Joey Moi, Eivind Nordland

3.Rolling Up the Welcome Mat – Kelsea Ballerini
Producers: Kelsea Ballerini, Alysa Vanderheym
Mix Engineers: Dan Grech-Marguerat, Alysa Vanderheym

4.Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville – Ashley McBryde
Producers: John Osborne, John Peets
Mix Engineers: Gena Johnson, John Osborne

5.Bell Bottom Country – Lainey Wilson
Producer: Jay Joyce
Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

SONG OF THE YEAR Award goes to Songwriter(s)

1.“Fast Car”
Songwriter: Tracy Chapman

2.“Heart Like A Truck”
Songwriters: Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Lainey Wilson

3.“Next Thing You Know”
Songwriters: Jordan Davis, Greylan James, Chase McGill, Josh Osborne

4.“Tennessee Orange”
Songwriters: David Fanning, Paul Jenkins, Megan Moroney, Ben Williams

5.“Wait in the Truck”
Songwriters: Renee Blair, Michael Hardy, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt


1.Kelsea Ballerini
2.Miranda Lambert
3.Ashley McBryde
4.Carly Pearce
5.Lainey Wilson


1.Luke Combs
2.Jelly Roll
3.Cody Johnson
4.Chris Stapleton
5.Morgan Wallen

2023 CMA Awards


1.Lady A
2.Little Big Town
4.Old Dominion
5.Zac Brown Band


1.Brooks & Dunn
2.Brothers Osborne
3.Dan + Shay
4.Maddie & Tae
5.The War And Treaty

MUSICAL EVENT OF THE YEAR Award goes to Artists and Producer(s)

1.“Save Me” – Jelly Roll (with Lainey Wilson)
Producers: Zach Crowell, David Ray Stevens

2.“She Had Me At Heads Carolina (Remix)” – Cole Swindell & Jo Dee Messina
Producer: Zach Crowell

3.“Thank God” – Kane Brown (with Katelyn Brown)
Producer: Dann Huff

4.“Wait in the Truck” – Hardy (feat. Lainey Wilson)
Producers: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells

5.“We Don’t Fight Anymore” – Carly Pearce (featuring Chris Stapleton)
Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Carly Pearce

lainey wilson

MUSIC VIDEO OF THE YEAR Award goes to Artist(s) and Director(s)

1.“Light On In The Kitchen” – Ashley McBryde
Director: Reid Long

2.“Memory Lane” – Old Dominion
Directors: Mason Allen, Nicki Fletcher

3.“Need A Favor” – Jelly Roll
Director: Patrick Tohill

4.“Next Thing You Know” – Jordan Davis
Director: Running Bear

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top